Uncategorized

The Christmas Doll

Finally a chance to post my lovely Christmas dress.

The Holidays are always hectic for me but I made time to make myself a new dress.

I had planned this dress a few months ago after seeing this doll while just browsing on Pinterest.

b621d797f41c3504e316f11b7f7cc242
Holiday Plaid by Gwendolyn Treasures 

I thought what a lovely Holiday dress this would be for a person. It fit right in with my Vintage taste and my love for the color red and plaids & tartans.

After finishing up the Hufflepuff dress I began working on the my Christmas dress. I had bought the red Duchess satin in November. I didn’t want a shiny fabric so I wen for the matte Duchess. My red fabric came and I needed to find a lovely plaid to go with it. Now I love plaids so much this can become a problem just choosing one. I just wish I could buy them all. After an internal struggle I choose to go with a lovley plaid shirting.

sam_2171

sam_2182

Since I was in rush to finish up this dress I don’t have any picture of the sewing process. BUT, I plan on making an effort for the next sewing project to get more pictures. Not just fabric and finish garment.

Once I had all my supplies I started on pattern work. I changed the dress a bit to fit my wants. Instead of having a one piece kimono sleeve bodice I wanted to to do inserted sleeve. I also added pleats to the bodice. After pattern work and three days of sewing I had a dress.

AND IT JUST SAYS MERRY CHRISTMAS

sam_2178sam_2179sam_2180

sam_2184sam_2181

 

added a Christmas hair flower I made from  leftover Holiday decorations to complete the look

I feel like a real Christmas Doll in this dress.

4 thoughts on “The Christmas Doll

Leave a Reply

